What's On

How To Enter

Follow us



Newsletter Subscription

Winners Announcement

Photos from the presentation ceremony

At 3pm and Don Thwaites took the stage to welcome all the visitors along to our presentation ceremony. Don spoke about mural fest celebrating it's 10th year and what a wonderful event it has been. Don took the opportunity to thank our major sponsor Tasmazia, the artists and committee for making the event happen and passed over to Leanne Tamas the mural fest coordinator to thank the specific people that made this event a success.

Leanne thanked the committee that worked throughout the year to piece the event together. Another key group of people are the volunteers that assist through the week to ensure we are able to help all the visitors to mural park. Special mention to Keith "macca" MacGregor, Mitchell Roughley and Pat Brown who have worked tirelessly through the week putting in the longest hours to ensure everything was ready at the start and end of the day. Lastly Penny Garrett and the mini mural team who put smiles on the faces of all the people that came through the mini mural area and helped grow the mini murals since taking over the role 2 years ago.

Penny Garrett took the stage and spoke of the amazing atmosphere around mural fest. She thanked her group of Volunteers Caitlin, Keenan, Liam, Emily, Julie and Dianna. Pengar Arts the sponsor of mini murals presented "children's incentive program" awards to Caitlin, Keenan and Liam.

Returning to the stage Don recognised other events that happened this week as part of mural fest. Firstly we had the treasure hunt event which ran all week long. We also had Julian Bale complete an interactive mural with community involvement throughout the week. This was proudly sponsored by Tas Helicopters. Our poetry night was also a great event with 2 judges choosing the poem that will be the theme of next year's mural from 75 poems.

The main presentations were then started. The first to be made was the peoples choice award. The award of this mural went to Kerry and Malcolm Nicholson who completed their mural "The Quilt" at last years event. Brian Inder presented the cheque to Barry Diprose who accepted on behalf of Kerry and Malcolm. They hope to be back again next year as they love the event and they are already working on interpreting the poem.

Brian also made mention of the grade 6 community mural wall that all grade 6 graduates of Sheffield District High School created a mini mural for. Each year the new grade 6 graduates will complete a mini mural that will hang in the park for 12 months with the previous years mini murals returned to their creator with a certificate of thanks.

The next award to be presented was the visitors choice award. This years winner was Keith and Loretta Sommer for their mural "A postcard from Tasmania" presented by Alan Dyer on behalf of John Dyer for Slaters Country Store.

The artists participation cheques were then presented to the artists.

Gillian Robnik presented by sponsor Treloar Transport

Ella Yates presented by sponsor Sheffield Shed

Aimee Bell presented by her sponsor Sheffield Hotel

John Eathorne presented by sponsors Silver Ridge Retreat and Tas Alkaloids

Christian Griffiths presented by sponsor World of Marbles

Fereleth Lee and Julie Jones presented by sponsor Sheffield IGA X-press

Frances Rowland Wregg and Colin Wregg presented by sponsor Targa Tasmania

Alicia Swiderski presented by sponsor Kentish Hills Retreat

Keith and Loretta Sommer presented by sponsor Slaters Country Store.

Don then passed over to Ferreleth Lee who presented a special award she created in relation to her mural "Who Dunnit?". The challenge was to guess who pushed the cupcake sheep off the table. The answer is noone ther other cupcakes don't have hands, he actually wanted to learn skydiving but after making his trial run by jumping off table he realised he had no hands to pull the parachute. The winner drawn was Jo Treloar who was not at the park at the time but will be presented with her prize shortly.

Don took the opportunity to thank all of our many sponsors who made the event a great success.

The Lucky voters winner was then drawnfrom people who voted throught the year for their favourite mural. The winner this year was Lance Coleman, who was rung and told of his win. He said he was a keen Mural Fest watcher and came every year.

Don then called the judges to the stage who selected the winner of this years event . This years judges were Carolyn Grey, Mathew Williamson and Trish Laws. Pat Brown presented them each with a thankyou gift hamper. Don also introduced our guest judge at this years event, who was triple winner of mural fest in the past, Marc Spijkerbosch who spoke on behalf of the judge. Firstly Marc presented a new award that we introduced this year. The Artists choice award gives the artists the chance to cast their votes for the other artists murals. The winner of the artists award this year was John Eathorne with his mural "The Honey Gatherer".

Now for the main prize. The judges choice award was a very difficult choice to make as the quality of the murals created this year was exceptional. After much deliberation the winner of the award this year was announced as Keith and Loretta Sommer with their mural "A Postcard From Tasmania".

They were very excited to win the judges award and to celebrate Loretta took the opportunity to read her poem, which was voted as the poem that will form the basis for the murals for 2013.

"Wild and free"

Freedom unrestraine, searches the secret wilderness of the heart.


Important Dates

Sunday, 5th April 2015
Paint Off Starts
Mural Park, Sheffield

Saturday, 11th April 2015
Brushes Down - 1pm

Mural Park, Sheffield

Saturday, 11th April 2015
Winners Announced - 3pm
Mural Park, Sheffield